Rio 100


Ragamuffin 100 finishes Transpac 2013

Honolulu, Hawaii – July 19, 2013 – At 18:17:26 today local Hawaii time, Syd Fischer’s Elliott 100 Ragamuffin 100 crossed the finish line at Diamond Head to be the fastest monohull to complete the 2225-mile course in the 2013 Transpac.

For this feat Ragamuffin and its crew of 20 will be awarded the Merlin Trophy, dedicated in 2009 by Trisha Steele and named for the Bill Lee-designed and built boat that in 1977 set a new course record that stood for 20 years and ushered in a new age of high speed offshore race boat design.

Since Ragamuffin has a canting keel, stored power is needed to lift the keel blade, and thus the boat is not eligible for manual power-only elapsed time awards such as the Barn Door Trophy.

After starting nearly one week ago on Saturday, July 13th, at Point Fermin in Los Angeles, the Australian team’s total elapsed time was 6 days 8 hours, 17 minutes, 26 seconds for an average speed over the course of 14.6 knots. This is nearly 18 hours off the existing record set in 2009 by Neville Crichton’s Reichel/Pugh 100 Alfa Romeo II, whose average speed on the course was 16.5 knots.

Photo credit: Doug Gifford/

  • 2017 Transpac Entries
  • Honolulu 2017 Schedule of Events
1 Andrews 70 PYEWACKET Roy P. Disney Waikiki YC
2 Archambault A35 MIRTHMAKER Kirk Denebeim Marina Del Coma YC
3 Bakewell White 100 RIO100 Manouch Moshayedi St. Francis YC
4 Beneteau First 40 PRECEPTS II Drew Belk San Diego YC
5 Beneteau First 40.7 ONDE AMO Stephen AShley Shoreline YC
6 Cal 40 AZURE Rodney Pimentel Encinal YC
7 Cal 40 PSYCHE Steve Calhoun Los Angeles YC
8 Cal 40 SEQUOIA Fred Cook Alamitos Bay YC
9 J/125 CAN'T TOUCH THIS Richard Pipkin Encinal YC
10 J/125 RAISIN' CANE! Frank Atkinson Coconut Grove SC
11 J/125 RESOLUTE Tim Fuller San Diego YC
12 J&J 50 ZEPHYR Michael St. Aldwyn Royal Yacht Squadron
13 Jeanneau BETWEEN THE SHEETS Ross Pearlman Balboa YC
14 Lee 68 MERLIN Bill & Lu Lee Santa Cruz YC
15 NPT 41S SHOCKWAVE Gary Grijalva Arizona YC
16 ORMA 60 MIGHTY MERLOE HL Enloe Silvergate YC
17 R/P 63 ASZHOU Steve Meheen San Diego YC
18 Rogers 46 VARUNA Chris Hemens Balboa YC
19 Santa Cruz 50 HANA HO Mark Dowdy San Francisco YC
20 Santa Cruz 50 HORIZON John Shulze Balboa YC
21 Santa Cruz 50 OAXACA Michael Moradzadeh Corinthian YC of SF
22 Santa Cruz 52 MEDUSA Jay Spalding Rush Creek YC  
23 Santa Cruz 52 PREVAIL William Guilfoyle Santa Barbara YC
24 Santa Cruz 52 SIN DUDA! Fritz & Lindsay Duda Chicago YC
25 Santa Cruz 70 GRAND ILLUSION James McDowell Waikiki YC
26 Santa Cruz 72 ANTIPODES Geoffrey Hill Royal Hong Kong YC
27 Sloop MEDICINE MAN Bob Lane Long Beach YC
28 Summit 40 LOCOMOTIVE Larry Andrews Southwestern YC
Read More

Check back often as we will be updating the Transpac 2017 Schedule of Events with new events and updated information as they become available.  For any questions, please contact Transpac Entry Chair, or Race Committee.

Date / Time Event / Location
July, 2016 2017 Notice of Race Published, Entries Opened
January 21-22, 2017 Safety at Sea Seminar, San Diego
March 1, 2017 Last date for Fully Paid Standard Entry
May 30, 2017 Last Date to pay late entry - Last Date to Enter Transpac 2017
May 30, 2017 Deadline to Submit Final Rating Data
June 23, 2017 Deadline to Submit "As Built" Sail Certificates
Two Days Before Start Deadline for Completing 2017 Safety Inspection
Two Days Before Start Deadline to Complete all items in Entry Process
July 1, 2017 Skippers Meeting
July 1, 2017 Aloha Sendoff Party, Long Beach
July 2, 2017 Last Safety at Sea Seminar, Long Beach
July 3, 2017 First Transpac 2017 Start, Pt Fermin
TBD Second Transpac 2017 Start, Pt Fermin
TBD Third Transpac 2017 Start, Pt Fermin
TBD Fast Multihull Start (if needed)
July 21, 2017, 0930 Navigator's Debrief, Waikiki YC
July 21, 2017 Honolulu Awards Ceremony, The Modern Hotel
Read More